What we do

The design, discovery, and synthesis of new materials will require atomic scale control, and new characterization tools and techniques will be critical.  Within the last decade, advances in (scanning) transmission electron microscopy (S/TEM) have allowed for the imaging of materials with unprecedented resolution.  Based on these advances, the next phase of electron microscopy will be to develop new characterization techniques to solve the eminent problems in materials science, and to extract information, such as about materials 3D structure and functionality, from the atomic to meso scale.



  • Position opening: One funded Ph.D. student position available. Please contact Jinwoo for more details.

  • New project: "Structure, Defects, and Emergent Properties at Magnetic Oxide Interfaces", a Proto-IRG grant supported by the Institution of Materials Research and Center for Emergent Materials at OSU. Read more

  • New project: Our team project, "Novel Methods for the Design and Fabrication of Complex Disordered Solids", has been awarded with funding from the National Science Foundation (NSF-DMREF). Read more

  • New project: "Ultra Wide Band Gap III-Nitride Semiconductor Materials and Devices", in collaboration with Prof. Siddharth Rajan at OSU, and funded by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFSOR). Read more

  • New project: “Correlating Structural Heterogeneity to Deformation in Metallic Glasses”, led by Jinwoo Hwang, has been awarded with funding from the National Science Foundation (NSF). Read more

  • Jared and Jinwoo have contributed to the development of remote epitaxy of semiconductor films using graphene, which is published in Nature and featured on the cover of Nature Vol. 544 (2017). Press release

  • Our graduate student Gabriel Calderon has won the Microscopy and Microanalysis (M&M) 2017 Presidential Scholar Award for his work "Determining Nanoscale Molecular Ordering in Semiconducting Polymers". Press release



Visit our microscopy center https://cemas.osu.edu/

Recent Publications

  • M. Souri, J. Terzic, J. M. Johnson, J. G. Connell, J. H. Gruenewald, J. Thompson, J. W. Brill, J. Hwang, G. Cao, and A. Seo, “Electronic and optical properties of La-doped Sr3Ir2O7 epitaxial thin-films”, Physical Review Materials 2, 024803 (2018).

  • Subrina Rafique, Md Rezaul Karim, Jared Johnson, Jinwoo Hwang and Hongping Zhao, “LPCVD homoepitaxy of Si doped β-Ga2O3 thin films on (010) and (001) substrates”, Appl. Phys. Lett. 112, 052104 (2018).

  • Yuewei Zhang, Sriram Krishnamoorthy, Fatih Akyol, Jared M. Johnson, Andrew A. Allerman, Michael W. Moseley, Andrew M. Armstrong, Jinwoo Hwang, and Siddharth Rajan, “Reflective Metal/Semiconductor Tunnel Junctions for Hole Injection in AlGaN UV LEDs”, Appl. Phys. Lett. 111, 051104 (2017) 

  • Sriram Krishnamoorthy, Zhanbo Xia, Yuewei Zhang, Chandan Joishi, Joe McGlone, Jared Johnson, Mark Brenner, Aaron R. Arehart, Jinwoo Hwang, and Siddharth Rajan, “Modulation-doped β-(AlxGa1-x)2O3/ Ga2O3 Field-Effect Transistor” Appl. Phys. Lett. 111, 023502 (2017). 

  • Pengyang Zhao, Ju Li, Jinwoo Hwang, and Yunzhi Wang, "Influence of nanoscale structural heterogeneity on shear banding in metallic glasses", Acta Materialia 134, 104 (2017). 

  • Y. Kim, S. S. Cruz, Y. Song, B. Alawode, J. M. Johnson, C. Heidelberger, W. Kong, S. Choi, Y. S. Lee, C. Choi, E. A. Fitzgerald, A. Kolpak, J. Kong, J. Hwang, and J. Kim, "Remote epitaxy through graphene for two-dimensional material based layer transfer", Nature 544, 340 (2017). 

  • Choong Hee Lee, Sriram Krishnamoorthy, Dante O'Hara, Jared Johnson, John Jamison, Roberto Myers, Roland Kawakami, Jinwoo Hwang, Siddarth Rajan, "Molecular Beam Epitaxy of 2D-layered Gallium Selenide on GaN substrates", Journal of Applied Physics 121, 094302 (2017). 

  • Jared Johnson, Soohyun Im, Wolfgang Windl, and Jinwoo Hwang, "Three-dimensional imaging of individual point defects using selective detection angles in annular dark field scanning transmission electron microscopy", Ultramicroscopy 172, 17 (2017). 

  • J. H. Gruenewald, J. H. Kim, H. S. Kim, J. M. Johnson, Jinwoo Hwang, M. Souri, J. Terzic, S. H. Chang, A. Said, J. W. Brill, G. Cao, H. Y. Kee, and S. S. A. Seo, “Engineering 1D Quantum Stripes from Superlattices of 2D Layered Materials”, Advanced Materials 29, 1603798 (2017).